claritylit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

he decidido...

I have decided to post everything in my LJ and in the diary, because I like the LJ client for writing. Let me sum up:

Final Exams: I got all but a couple of the kids to take their finals. They took finals on the second to last class period I was there. Then, there were make-ups the last class, and everyone else watched what turned out to be a depressing Nature video about the relationship between animals and humans. It ended on a note where one of the chimpanzees used to create a hepatitis vaccine died. Yay. I managed to grade exams and calculate grades during that last week, and fill in all the stupid scantrons for report cards. Then I ran away and flew to California.

California: After a long, choppy flight that made both Matt and myself slightly airsick, we met my grandfather, and drove to his house in the mushy Grand Marquis that definitely made Matt motion-sick. We stopped in to see my grandmother before even going to the house. I wish I could stop and pay attention and give this the gravity it deserves, but it's been more than a week, and if I don't do it now, I never will.

My grandmother was both better and worse than expected. I basically expected to find her on her deathbed, but she was much better than that. She knew my voice right away, even though her vision is somewhere between crappy and nonexistant. She smiled this great big smile when she heard me, and that was the nicest feeling I've had in a while. So, Matt and I spent a week spending about an hour or two every day with my grandmother at the world's most depressing convalescent home. We also got lots of scenic tours from my grandfather. We wanted to go to Tahoe at the end of the week, but then Matt's mom talked him into Yosemite. We didn't make it very far into Yosemite before the car had problems, but whatever.

The day of the flight, we said goodbye to my grandmother, and flew back home for Christmas.

Christmas: was unexceptional. We had our first tree, but didn't really put any presents under it. Christamas Eve and Christmas day were both at my parents' house, to spare my brother any pet-related allergy attacks. We had fun, but no great presents.

I am now trying to talk myself into buying a new laptop, and either selling my iMac or giving it to my family to use. We'll see what happens.

8:16 pm - December 30, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

weetabix
trancejen