claritylit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Drama and knitting. They're like, um..., well...

I'm trying to learn how to knit, so I joined the knitting LJ community, previously seen only on my F2 list. Except that they're having some ridiculous dramatics about people posting too many stupid questions that could be answered if people looked at the user profile. I understand the frustration with newbies, but knitting is hard, and nowadays, the Internet is the first place people go for information. So, on account of the dramatics and the fact that I don't like the mod's attitude and response, I'm leaving the community that I joined about 24 hours ago. Yay. Reminded me too much of Autumn, my favorite plagaree.

So, let's see. In other news, my office mate, whom I've really grown to like despite the major differences in our religious/moral beliefs, has decided to move back to Arkansas. Her husband, who also works at my school, went back for a job interview last week, and this week they found out that he got the job, and they've promised my office mate a teaching position at the same school. They'll be in the same town as Office Mate's grandfather, and about an hour from both her parents and her brother. I suppose I'm happy for her, but she hit me with it right when I started my period after two weeks of PMSing, so it kind of upset me. Not that I got upset at her, or said anything other than, "I'll miss you," but still. We've been bonding in adversity, and I was really lucky in being assigned to the same office. She's been supportive without offering me the crutch I might have used a mentor for. So this goes out to Jeannie: I'll miss you, you heifer.

In the good news category, my grandmother has improved even beyond how she was when I was out there. Her vision seems to be returning a bit, and she has been working on walking with a walker and returning to physical therapy. She was coherent when I was with her, but she didn't really show any interest in getting better. All of a sudden, she's asking for therapy, she's decided to get up and walk. I don't know where this woman gets her endurance from, but I hope I got a little of it myself. Every time we think she's down for the count, all she's doing is taking a breather, and then she's back in the fight. I think she just really doesn't know how to let go. That's a good and bad trait, I suppose.

I'm sure I had more to say, but I can't remember all the little bits now.

7:50 pm - January 22, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

weetabix
trancejen