claritylit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

just another day in paradise

Today was pretty adventurous so far. Okay, as adventurous as a teacher's life gets. They just opened a Chick-fil-A here in Nowheresville, so everybody is really excited about that. Several of my students got jobs there, and I mentioned during one class how much I like the lemonade. So, today, one of those students brought me in a gallon jug of the stuff. I didn't think they'd remember, and even if they did, I certainly didn't think they'd just bring me some. I figured I'd say "Hi" in the drive-through. So, first period got some little cups from the nurse, and we all had some lemonade. Except for the boy who made it, because he never wanted to drink lemonade again. These kids astonish me sometimes.

Then third period, one of my troublemakers was in ISS and another one was absent, so the class was abnormally quiet. Very weird. A good student was back after two weeks out. I don't know if he was skipping or if he was ill, but he returned a couple days after I reported him being absent three consecutive classes. I can just see the attendance secretary phoning home and asking if the parents were aware he'd missed so much school. I hope he wasn't skipping, because he seems to be a good kid, and is one of the few bright ones I've got.

The beginning of the week was eventful. We had Monday off (Hooray for dead presidents!). OfficeMate walked out Tuesday morning. Her husband, who also works here, had made a minor mistake. Because of this *very* minor thing, the principal, who is not a very good manager, *suspended* him. And she packed up all his things, along with the computer he was using, and locked them up somewhere. Even though he still had a week of work left. Upon hearing this, OM got justifiably angry, and decided that she wouldn't be coming back. School hadn't even started, and I was helping her carry boxes out to her car.

It was wild. The county office called and wanted OM's husband's suspension letter back. OM and OMH were suspicious about that, and talked to the head of the teachers' union. The union person said that the principal is already in trouble over some other things, so it wouldn't really be worth it to get her in trouble over the suspension letter. They made a copy anyway. But, from confidential gossip, it sounds like after this year, our principal will be an assistant principal somewhere else. I certainly hope so. My prior job experience has been so awful that this doesn't seem too bad, but the students are definitely getting shortchanged.

So, OM and family will be moving a week ahead of schedule. I visited yesterday, but they were in the middle of packing, so we really didn't talk much. I'm going to miss OM, and I told her so. Her husband was nice enough to say, "Thanks for being good to my wife," which I appreciate as a compliment from both of them. They will be leaving on Friday, which was previously their last day of work. They gave all their school gear to Goodwill, and when I was there, I saw her husband's football cap (he was a coach) in the trash can.

Having all this going on, and then the news about Karen and Gina, I felt quite giddy Tuesday. For anyone who doesn't know, Autumn accused me of plagiarism once and was generally nasty several times, and Karen accused me of plagiarizing one of Autumn's stories. I know that Autumn isn't really implicated in any of this Fox stuff, other than by association, but shame by association is good enough for me. I'm lucky enough not to have had any personal run-ins with Gina, but reading her posts in various places was enough to make me want to hit her with a stick. So, there.

Bell's gonna ring. Lunch is over.

7:24 pm - February 19, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

weetabix
trancejen